Time to Change Course
By William Tucker
Published 1/9/2007 12:08:10 AM

When I was a graduate student in the 1960s I was a student radical and member of SDS. At the school I was attending, the State University of New York at Buffalo, our local chapter had a typical experience. A group of students resisted the draft, holed up in a church to resist arrest and -- along with a few hundred other students -- fought the police when they arrived. Nine people were charged and put on trial. They became the "Buffalo Nine."

On the first day of the trial we all went down to demonstrate outside the courthouse. At one point, as the hundred-or-so students marched in a circle waving placards, they trapped a pair of old ladies next to the building. Instead of letting them pass, each student began waving his fist in the ladies' faces so that, within a few seconds, they were clearly terrified. I rushed in to usher them out and that was the end of it.

That evening, when we were back on campus planning the next day's activities, I stood up and gave a speech. I described the incident and said we were never going to win the hearts of the American people if we picked on old ladies. To my surprise, our leader, a frizzy-haired English major with a hippie girlfriend, stood up and denounced me. "I don't give a damn about old ladies," he said. "I'm for killing old ladies if it helps the Revolution."

I looked around the room, expecting to meet quizzical faces saying, "Is this guy crazy?" Instead, I found a hundred baleful pairs of eyes staring at me. I quickly realized I was in the wrong movement.

Everyone who has had some experience with leftist radical politics ends up with a similar experience. (See P.J. O'Rourke, whose adventures were much more interesting than mine.) You encounter people with an idee fixe -- a vision so pure and intense that they don't mind slaughtering a few people in order to achieve it.