Medical DQ?
Create Post

Thread: Medical DQ?

Medical DQ?

When I was born, there was a hole in my lung. I was taken to another hospital for emergency surgery. For several years afterwards I had to take medicine every night through a breathing like machine. Even while I was on medicine, it never stopped me from physicall activity. I have gone to the limits and have never had any respiratory problems as far as I am concerned. But I am not a doctor. I am wondering if it will DQ me from enlisting. Any questions, comments, or concerns are welcome.

Best Regards,
    -devin0116

We're not doctors from MEPS. The only way you're going to find out the answers to your questions, is to talk with a recruiter.

Military Medical Standards for Enlistment & Commission
    Lungs, chest wall, pleura, and mediastinum
    http://usmilitary.about.com/od/joini...ry/a/lungs.htm

Guest Free Member
    Credits
    Savings
    Images
    That's some Big Stuff to go through so Young.
    Glad you Recovered.

Good Luck and Good Health to you Always........

I have people teling me to bring it up to my recruiter, and others saying dont mention it. I don't know what to do, I have always wanted to be a Marine and if this doesn't work out theres nothing else I really want to do.

No matter anyone tells you to do.......DO NOT LIE to your recruiter and DO NOT LIE to the doctors at MEPS....plain and simple.
    You do not want to be charged with fraudulent enlistment.

Someone I know is going to MEPS tom. and said he'll try to get an answer out of them. I know theyt can only make a definite answer after examining me, but at least if they tell him it will tell me if its a PDQ or not.

The only way to know FOR SURE is to go to the recruiter and do the MEPS process. It's all just talk until then. BUT, at least you'll know for sure.