Father's not wanting their children to join.
Create Post
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Marine Family Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Father's not wanting their children to join.

Hello, I have a question for parents of Marines that are also Marines. I am 17, turning 18 in 7 months. My dad is a US Marine Vietnam Veteran. All my life I've talked about joining the Marines, I always liked to think it is exactly how I would end up because "it's in my blood" and "I want to be like dad". Growing up of coarse he's always been darn proud of being a Marine and I love it. However, now that I am in my last year of High School, and it is a possible reality, he absolutely hates me mentioning joining the Marines. I understand he is my dad and doesn't want me getting killed and yes, we all know 98% chance that I'm going from boot camp right to Iraq or Afghanistan. He had to know the same thing when he joined the Marines during Vietnam. I'm asking for some advice on how to talk to him about it. Whenever I try to talk about it calmly, he gets really mad Thank You for the advice in advance.

First, you won't be going straight from boot camp to Iraq or Afghanistan. You'll be going to SOI/MCT, then your MOS school. If and when you get deployed, you may have a year in the Marine Corps by then.
    As for talking with your dad, no mater how much he may get mad when you bring it up, just keep trying to talk to him and let him know that this is what you really want, and tell your dad that it's important to you that understands that.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonezy View Post