up or out?
Create Post

Thread: up or out?

Registered User Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

up or out?

First off, I'd like to thank all those that have contributed to this site. It's answered many of my questions, made me look at things in a different way, and gave me many things to think about in regards to a career in the military, specifically the Marines.

I graduated from college last year, and have been in the workforce since. It is not giving me what I want however (challenge, job satisfaction, etc...) which has brought me here.

Now, to the point and the questions...

1. I've noticed some discussion, in regards to promotions, that the Marines adopt the philosophy of 'up or out.' I assume this means you must continually seek advancement or get out? Or, if you fail to make a promotion do they get rid of you? Basically, I'd like some confirmation and elaboration on this if possible.

(Depending on the answer to #1, ie...if advancement is required for a career in the Marines)

2. In regards to promotions, have any of you had any positive or negative experiences with this? For example, do politics play a role, to what extent, promotions more/less critical for officers/NCO's, etc...

I realize there are many obstacles between where I am now, and where I would be in a position to worry about stuff like this. I just like to know as much as I can before hand, and would appreciate any feedback on the topic.