DEP Questions
Create Post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DEP Questions

Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

DEP Questions

I was wondering if the DEP program is capable of making me fit enough for the Marine Corps.

I am really unfit right now and I have never played any sports throughout all my life, I am 18 years old, 5'10 and yet I am only 115 LBS; for my height, I don't weigh enough to even make it through to become a recruit. I am really skinny and I can't even run a quarter mile without grasping for air.

I am at home all the time watching TV and playing Gran Turismo and Starcraft. Right now I know for sure I would not even make it through a week of basic training.

I want to know if DEP is able to make me fit enough, I am 18 years old right now so I am old enough to join; I have a high school degree, I graduated on June.

Thank you for taking your time reading my post,

Sincerely,

Dave Le

Hey Dave,

(Short answer down below!)
    To answer your question the DEP will help you become stronger but only to an extent. It really depends on how badly you want to ship to boot camp and start the journey to becoming a Marine. In the DEP you will go to Poolee functions where youll work out a bit but these are usually only 1 or 2 times a month. So yes you will get some benefit from it but its going to take alot more PT then that if your have as much trouble as your letting on. The only thing you can do to improve on your run is to get out there and get some. Put the video games away if your serious about leaving for boot camp. You said your just out of high school and that you sit at home all day so why dont you get yourself into some kind of routine and work out 2-3 times a day. Your 115lbs the minimum weight for your height is 132 inches and im sure you could get 10 pounds waivered so your really not that far off.