MOS Promises
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MOS Promises

MOS Promises

My first post. And I'm a wannabe, I'm not in the DEP. But I've thought about the Marine Corps. since I graduated high school 2 years ago. Since then I haven't been to college, but I did move away from home. I've been living on my own for a while and I'm thinking about the Marine Corps. again.

I talked to a recruiter here for the last 2 days, I remember alot of stuff I talked to the recruiter about 2 years ago.

I feel alot of honesty coming from the recruiter. And he is promising me a job that as long as its on my contract thats what I get. Of course I did the research like other wannabes and poolees and saw that really there is no promise.

If I don't qualify or its something thats my fault I get whatever the Corps. wants to put me in. But if its not available beyond my control I can choose another MOS.

I asked him about this and he promised to me again that I will get the MOS that I want. I searched the forum here and saw that you really get to pick a job around the MOS and then a job within that category becomes yours.

When I bring it up to him he reinforces the fact that what I want is what I get. No less.

The MOS I have taken an interest in is Security Forces as he refers to it Presidential support. Since it is based off of Infantry school training does this mean that I could end up in a combat arms MOS.

Ok here's the scoop. You can sign a contract for a slot in school for SF. SF is not just an MOS that you can sign up for and attain very easily. You'll go through school to be an infantryman and then after that you will attend SF school. If you pass then yes, you will have that MOS. If not then you will most likely be put back into an infantry battalion.

So in one way he's being completely honest but in another he's being a little shady. You can sign a contract for security forces but if you don't make it then you will go back to being a grunt.