Few Questions
Create Post
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Few Questions

Few Questions

Hey all, first of all i'm not a US resident or citizen, nor have i ever visited the place.

I am trying hard to get some info on joining the Marines or other US military as a non-national, preferably as an officer (i have a degree) or if not i would probably be happy enough going enlisted.

I have emailed the Air Force and the Marines etc but official responces consist of roughly "We aren't allowed help you. Contact immigration".

Ok fair enough i go for my green card/etc then apply.

Problem. I have zero interest in citizenship/residency without getting into the military.
    So you can imagine i'm not overly impressed with the idea of going through the residency etc process only to be told i failed my medical/other and to **** off.

Also i'm not sure if a green card is enough to go to be an officer, as far as i'm aware its stricter then enlistment.

Anyways, i'd really be grateful if anyone could help me out, give me some advice etc.

Thanks.

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Generally speaking, in order to become an officer, you MUST be a US Citizen, no exceptions. However, on the enlisted side, being a legal resident will suffice. Probably your best bet is to get your green card first, then try to enlist. Where are you a citizen of, exactly?

yellowwing
    Guest Free Member
    Problem. I have zero interest in citizenship/residency without getting into the military.
    Okay you've said that up front, cool. If you just have that hard core desire to be a professional warrior, then in all sincerity check out the French Foreign Legion.

The website I linked to above has a great quote about one of their CPLs that was asked by a reporter what was his country of citizenship. His reply was "I am Legionnaire."

So check it out, it seems like a better fit for you. We need patriots in Our Marine Corps.

Last edited by yellowwing; 11-30-06 at 10:38 PM.