Aircrew or Parachute Rigger
Create Post

Aircrew or Parachute Rigger

Good morning/afternoon/evening Marines,

I am new to the community even though I have read nearly 100 forums so I would like to apologize if I have done anything wrong so far. I know that you have to fill out your profile, which I have done, but I'm not sure if there is anything else I need to do so if so please let me know.

Moving on, my name is Austin Barker and I am a poolee from RSS Frankfort in Kentucky. I sworn in May 19th and ship off to MCRD Parris Island December 4th of this year. I always wanted to become a Marine since around middle school and have finally put that dream into motion. I have been talking to my recruiter for nearly two years before I finally went to MEPS and now that I am sworn in I need to figure out what job contract I would like to sign. I do know the needs of the Marine Corps is the highest priority but I would like to be guaranteed a field where I would have my job in. I do have some time to decide since I will most likely not be signing a contract until the contracts for new FY come out in August-October.

I have been looking into different MOS's for some time now and have narrowed down two contracts that I would like to do but need help deciding which one to do. The first one is an AG contract for aircrew and the second is a PR contract for parachute rigger. I have read a lot of stuff and talked to the SNCOIC at my recruiting station since he is a crew chief on aircrew training and life but have not found a lot of information on being a parachute rigger. I know you go to airborne school after MCT then to parachute rigger school after that but cannot find anything on the life of a parachute rigger so I was hoping some Marines on this forum could shed some light on the two jobs and give their opinion on what it was like.