Questions from a hopeful future 0311
Create Post

Questions from a hopeful future 0311

I've always wanted to be in the military, but I had a few concerns about infantry. My dad was a serviceman (Sailor), so I grew up around firearms, and know just how devastatingly LOUD AR-15s (and presumably their mil-spec counterparts) can be. I've heard that even though you're technically supposed to wear hearing protection at all times, it's not always feasible in combat. As a musician, I need and depend on my ears. Aside from serving, music is really all I ever saw myself doing, and it's what I want to continue doing after I get out. So my questions are:
    1) How good is the standard issue hearing protection?
    2) Are we allowed to buy our own?
    3) If so, does anyone here have experience with active hearing protection? Is it any good?
    4) Are there any other ways of ensuring I don't do too much damage without endangering myself or (more importantly) the people who's backs I'm supposed to have?
    5) For you current and former 03xxs, how often do you find yourselves saying "WHAT???"

Anyone who wants to call me a pussy, that's fine, but remember, as important as it is to throw yourself 110% at what you do and not whine about the "trivial" things, this to me is not trivial. As far as I'm concerned, if I have nothing to come back to, I may as well not come back at all.
    I think I covered my main concerns for now, but I'll update if I think of anything new.

Thanks for the help.
    P

Similar Threads:

josephd
    Guest Free Member
    AR-15s and M16/M4s are not "devastatingly loud"...especially compared to a 240 or .50cal

1) no better and no worse than anything else, "standard issue" ear pro is just the foam plugs you stick in your ears

2) yes, as long as it is considered tactical eg. no big headphone looking ones

3) what is "active hearing protection"?