Trouble in the recruiting process?
Create Post

Trouble in the recruiting process?

I am a poolee right now and have been in the DEP since July of 2012.

At first I didn't know what MOS I should go for, and after going through a few ideas, my recruiter got me interested in the intelligence field.

I then began reading up on what intelligence does, getting motivated and realizing that this is actually something I would love to make a full career of even after the Marines, in a government agency maybe, or who knows maybe just 20 years in the Marines.

I have told my family and friends I am very excited to ship out for intel and become part of the Marines in a field I know I will be successful in. I have been prepping myself for a few months now to ship, selling things, saving money, working my butt off, and briefing myself on all possible duties I could get in the intel field. My family has been very proud of me, and I couldn't be happier.

Until a few days ago when I come into my recruiters office and he tells me someone took my intel slot because they scored higher than me on the DLAB... I scored a 100 on the DLAB, I could have done better but I tried my best.

Now I am stuck between logistics, and open contract. I don't know how to tell my family this, Or talk to my recruiter about it. I would absolutely never choose a career in logistics, I know that job isn't for me. My recruiter said bloom where you are planted but if I wanted to be miserable I would stay working at the pizza place I am at now.

I have spoken to many Marines who hate being in, who regret joining. I do not want to be that. It is intel or nothing for me, but my only shot would be to discharge from the DEP and wait till october to re-join when more intel slots are open.