Decisions, decisions. Seeking guidance, and advice.
Create Post

Decisions, decisions. Seeking guidance, and advice.

Greetings again folks! Thank you to those of you that replied in the last thread from several days ago. I'm back, and I have information that can help me now to proceed with deciding what it is I want to do with my future. Just a forewarning, this post might get lengthy.

I'm freshly 24 years old. I'm a commissioned police officer in the state of Ohio. But, my paying job is security at a college. Job prospects in law enforcement are not high right now. I've already been at my security job for going on 2 years now, and I absolutely feel like I'm wasting my time. I've been with my girlfriend for 9 years this October, and I wanted to join the Army when I was 18. Nobody in my family supported this decision even though I went to MEPS, and signed a contract anyways. I wasn't due to ship for months, and the pressure from everyone around me to just attend college instead got overwhelming. My girlfriend also said she would leave me if I left, and that was the nail in the coffin. I made the arrangements with my recruiter much to his displeasure, and "backed out" of going. Before anyone gets up in arms about that, even though you took an oath at MEPS it literally means nothing in terms of binding you to go. There is literally nothing they can do if you decide not to go, except belittle you. I was extremely disappointed in my myself as well, anyways.