Talk to a recruiter now or wait?
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Talk to a recruiter now or wait?

I want to start by saying thanks to everyone for serving our country as a Marine. I am looking to join the Marines but am not sure if I should talk to a recruiter now or wait because my conditioning for running is lacking pretty bad. I can do 15 or so pullups, 100 sittups in 2 min but I am lacking on the running big time. I havent checked my full 3mile run yet but my best at the moment is 2miles in 20minutes. I more then likely can hold to 10min mile for 3 but because im 25 and have a slight issue with a bunion which does not bother me physicall from running or anything else i want to be able to score high with the IST and be in great shape before i talk to a recruiter.

I have been working out in the gym for 2 years but lifting for strength isnt anything near the same as physical condition needed for boot. I am working on my running right now but have just started to do so. So im wondering because i have a feeling i need to "shine" with my IST scores to have a better chance at being considered for the Marines. Should i wait till my cardio is in better shape before talking to a recruiter or should i just start to now and let the running experience work up through my time in DEPS.

I am somewhat worried about not getting past MEPS because my slight bunion and a couple tattoos on my forearms. The tattoos on my forearms i can cover up with my hand althought the tattoo on my calf a very small amount still shows which hopefully i can have waivered IF need be. Thanks in advance for the help.

Last edited by Rocky C; 08-11-12 at 02:25 PM.

Medical/Mental/Criminal/Tattoo Waivers/Lying to MEPS...READ THIS FIRST

http://www.leatherneck.com/forums/sh...EAD-THIS-FIRST

Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings