Preparing for OCS, I'm having some trouble...
Create Post

Unhappy Preparing for OCS, I'm having some trouble...

I've been working with an OSO for a couple of months now, getting in shape an preparing for the rigors of Officer Candidate School. In the past three months I have lost 30lbs and improved my flexed arm hang from 45 seconds to the full 70 seconds. I'm still stuck at 75 crunches, but where I'm really having trouble is with the running.

I can run a mile and a half in 12:45, but I'm practically crawling across the three mile line with a time of 27 minutes. My problem isn't really endurance, I am a college athlete on my university's crew team. We often row up to ten miles per practice and I handle the long distances well. But while running, usually around the two mile mark, I get these really intense stomach cramps and I have an uncontrollable urge to vomit, so intense I actually start to gag while I'm running. It's really bizzarre and I don't ever have this problem while rowing or doing any other physical activity.

I've consulted my physician, and he has no idea what I'm talking about. He just old me never to eat before I run, which I don't think is the problem.

I was wondering if any of you Marines have ever had this problem? I'm trying everything I can to keep running, but this is really putting a damper on my training for OCS.

Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks!

josephd
    Guest Free Member
    Never heard of anything like this really,unless it is really something serious I wouldn't worry about it and my suggestion would be to actually puke, get it over with, and get your second wind, you'll feel much better!

Endurance for running is different than endurance for crew, because you're using different muscles. It it were me, I would just keep on running.