02xx or 26xx
Create Post

Thread: 02xx or 26xx

Poolee/DEP Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

02xx or 26xx

I signed a DEP contract for either an 0200 or a 2600 MOS. Now my recruiter is having me take the DLAB. He said if I pass it’s likely I will be given a 2600 MOS, so if I don’t want that, don’t bother trying to pass and I’ll get 02xx. Is this correct? Also, which job field do you guys recommend? I’ve done research on both and I’d be fine with either, I just want to be a Marine. Are there benefits to one over the other that I don’t know? Thank you

Similar Threads:

Read the similar threads below your post.

Being on embassy duty twice, I have some personal experiences with language training (all provided by the State Department). I was required to study Spanish (Guatemala and Nicaragua), French (Haiti), and Brazilian Portugese (Sao Paulo Brazil). One drawback I can see to a 2600 MOS is being pigeon-hold to the region of the world where that language is spoken. For example, if Russian is your assigned language, then obviously your time/assignments would be focused on Russia. Same with Farsi and the Middle East, Chinese and China, etc. This would hold true after the Marine Corps and civilian employment where that language is required/used. You would be limiting yourself to finding a job with an employer seeking someone with that particular language ability. Even working for the CIA/NSA/DIA, they would have to have a need for you. Once hired, your professional world would revolve around that region/nation. Seems like a pretty big gamble to me. What if your language/region does not particularly interest you? What if you start out interested, because it's all new and challenging, but lose interest years later but it's too late to start over?