Am I a Marine?
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Am I a Marine?

Am I a Marine?

I arrived on Parris Island on December 30th, 2000. I graduated from recruit training on March 23, 2001 with 2nd BN Echo Company PLT 2029, SDI SSGT Maloney. I came home on leave, and was given recruiters leave where I served for a month with SSGT Robinson at my local recruiting office. SSGT Robinson was my recruiter, and welcomed my help and presence. Being home that long, combined with being young and dumb.... gave me the opportunity to make mistakes. That is precisely what i did. I made the mistake of thinking i could do some cocaine and not get caught. I was wrong.

After recruiters leave was over, i bussed down to Geiger for MCT. Like everyone else, i was drug tested... Thinking that i was clean. My class didn't pick up for a few weeks, so i was put on Camp Guard until the class started. On the day of MCT graduation, i was given my diploma but told to stay behind afterwards. Another guy from my class was told the same thing. It turns out that both of us had tested positive for drugs.

Naturally, both of us were sent to the SEPS Platoon. Despite the mistake i made while home on leave, I was ALWAYS the best Marine that i could possibly be. Even in SEPS. (There are some VERY well painted buildings on Geiger because of yours truly.) While in SEPS, my superiors told me how the game was played. It was basically up to me to decide if i stay or go. Like i said, i was always the best Marine i could be, so they assumed i wanted to stay. While part of me did, there were some very exciting prospects back home. I was tempted by those prospects, and made the decision that i was going home. This is a decision that i deeply regret to this day.