DEP to PLC?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DEP to PLC?

DEP to PLC?

Hello Marines,

My name is Sebastian Camargo and I Signed the initial DEP contract in October, with a ship date to Paris Island due on April 25th 2016.

That being said, I am currently in my first semester of college, and I decided to follow through with my dream of becoming a Marine. I got an 80 on my asvab and my recruiter told me I qualified for any MOS. After my initial signing at MEPS, I met with my recruiter to choose an MOS, only to find out that I did not qualify for Air crew or aircraft mechanic because of my mechanical score (91). I asked my recruiter if I could take the asvab again and he said its not possible since I already signed my initial DEP contract.

I've had aspirations of becoming a pilot or even working on aircraft for a while now and I am kind of disappointed that I would not be able to do that.

So after being told I wouldn't be able to work on aircrafts, I asked my recruiter if it's possible to become a pilot. He told me to choose a contract and from there I would have to apply to MECEP and then be selected for OCS.

Reading through the forums, I came across programs such as NROTC and PLC. What I'm wondering is if I am able to apply for PLC even though I'm currently in DEP? If it is possible, how would I go about doing that? Would that be through my recruiter? He didn't sound so happy when I asked him about becoming and officer and was really pushing me to do th enlisted MECEP route.. Doing research I found that MECEP is very competitive to get into, and if my ultimate goal is to become a pilot, doing the direct route would be more convenient. I appreciate any input from Marines that are knowledgeable on this subject or any input at all. Thank you Marines.

USMC 2571
    Guest Free Member