Soon to be college graduate.
Create Post

Soon to be college graduate.

Good evening,

I have a few questions in regards of joining the Marine Corps with a college degree. I am majoring in business administration and I'm a former collegiate athlete. I'm about to graduate from my military college in May and I have been attending military schools since the age of 14 as I strive in structured and disciplined environments. I am a non-ROTC student but I have had numerous classmates commission as 2LTs in every branch through their respected ROTC programs and I have my sights set on the Marine Corps. Numerous MESEPS, active duty Marines, and veterans suggested utilizing my degree and becoming an officer through OCS. I am considering joining the Reserves as I have a few jobs offers lined up that are well-paying but I know once I leave this military environment I will miss the comradery, structure, and overall atmosphere.

I will be speaking to a recruiter next week and I want to make sure I have the facts straight as I don't want get duped into a contract that I wasn't expecting. My question is would I have to attend Boot Camp, SOI, and get a slot for OCS as well as IOC? How does the processes work and how competitive is the process? Does overall GPA matter?

I am not stressed about Boot Camp, passing the PT test, getting yelled at by SDIs or DIs, smoke sessions, learning knowledge because that's expected if you want to bear the title of Marine. My only concern is having the patience dealing with immaturity as I lost both of my parents at an early age and had to mature into an adult faster than my peers. Would this be an issue for me? Also, is being a "Weekend Warrior" frowned upon in the Corps?

Regards,

Jake

Similar Threads:

josephd
    Guest Free Member