after 7yrs finally asking for insight
Create Post

after 7yrs finally asking for insight

I am here asking Marines for their insight and opinion on my issue i have been dealing with since 2007. I do not bring this up or have not bothered anyone with it, but it has eatin at me to long now. This may not register as serious for most but it does to me. ok so long story short..

In april 2006 i enlisted and went to MCRD sandiego in july 2006 a few months into basic i got stress fractures on my left foot and was sent to MRP. I spent almost 6 months in basic. I declined being discharged from basic and eventually graduated in december 2006 after doing the crucible twice.

I went to SOI in january 2007 and it happens once again..

Month or so into training i re-break the same injurys and was discharged in march of 2007.

my problem i have is more of a personal/mental one.. over the years since my discharge i very rarely bring up the Marines, wear shirts etc.

I know since i graduated got my EGA i am a Marine, but sometimes i dont see it like that. its hard to bring up when i didnt even complete SOI and have "time" in. i have never gone to the VA to claim any form of benefits or even try because i did not earn that right and i in no way shape or form claim to be or even use the word Veteran when talking about myself.

Not letting my injury properly heal cost me my military carerr and re enlisting at this time. im to old for the Marines now(32) I do have papers submitted for the Navy to see about being medically approved.

my question is am i right for thinking this way?

since i was never fully active duty or a fleet Marine do i rate the right to still claim it?

My wife and other former military tell me to go to the VA and file, but again I have no right/reason to.

any insight to this would be helpful. Thanks

Similar Threads:

josephd
    Guest Free Member
    straight forward answer.....

VA, yes you rate it and you should