How to convince my parent to let me join Marine reserves
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How to convince my parent to let me join Marine reserves

Hello im currently a senior in high school and Im trying to convince my parent to let me sign up for Marine reserves. Im 17 so I cant join yet without my parents discretion. I have applied for the Nrotc scholarship Marine option, but being a realistic guy like I am I dont think im going to get it. Im an average student with a good pft score. I have been going to the poolee functions for 3 months now and I love it. I want to be Marine more than anything. I have already asked my parents about letting me sign up for active Marines and they turned down that idea real quick. There main concern was that I wouldn't be motivated or dedicated enough to do college part time as a full time Marine, which I can understand that and there concerns. Well I did a lot of research and talked to my recruiter and Marine reserves sound like a viable option. I get some money for going up ounce a month and doing drills and I get some money for college. My family is pretty well of and help pay for schooling and I could help them with the bill and I can be a Marine. My plans after college is to join active Marine and go to OCS cause I have a degree. I need my parents help through college if I dont get the scholarship so I cant just join when Im at 18 otherwise im on my own. If I sign up for the reserves now and say get the scholarship than they would relive my duty as a reservest and I would be in the Nrotc program, but if I dont get it than I can attend bootcamp and soi because I want to be an 0311. Any advice or help would be appreciated.

You need to fill out your profile before someone will help you. PM any squad leader , Mod or Admin to reopen this once you have.

Thank you.

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Profile completed, thread re-opened.

Note, second thread deleted. Follow instructions about getting closed threads re-opened.