Any 2700 Linguists around?
Create Post

Any 2700 Linguists around?

I am curious if there are any linguists around to answer a few questions. I am enlisted in the DEP, ship date of 10172011, but am still under a general contract. Waiting for jobs to open up for the new fiscal year.

I did well on the ASVAB with a 96 and fairly well on the DLAB with 107. My recruiter suggest Intelligence or Linguistics, both of which we my first choices. I have some experience in east asian languages, including Chinese and Japanese.

My question is this; for an entry level linguist position, exactly what is the day-in-day-out business? I understand some linguists are sequestered away in bunker on information warfare duty, but I also have heard of some being deployed to the field. Does it change based on what language you know, or rather, what unit you are attached to?

I'm not necessarily looking to be stuck in a bunker in god-knows-where for the next 5 years of my life, on the other hand I certainly do want one of these two fields.

Any thoughts to share? I appreciate it,
    Zach

With a DLAB of 107, you'd probably be better off in the Intel field rather than the Languages, but it's up to you. DLI is a very difficult school, even for those who're able to grasp the concept.

As for whether or not you'll be in the field - it really does all depend on which unit you'd be stationed with. That's Marine Corps wide, not just in regards to Intel and Linguists. It's all based on what the Marine Corps needs at the time.

Quote Originally Posted by AjC View Post
    With a DLAB of 107, you'd probably be better off in the Intel field rather than the Languages, but it's up to you. DLI is a very difficult school, even for those who're able to grasp the concept.