PDA

View Full Version : Intro

AA87
05-28-10, 05:35 PM
Hello Marines, Recruits, Poolees, and Wannabes,

The name's Aaron, and I fall into the last category. I'm a 23 year old male from Illinois. I'm from Hillsboro(if any of you die hard UFC fans know of Matt Hughes, he lived down the street from me), but I claim Chicago as my home, and currently reside in the capitol of Springfield. My entire life I've had a love of the military, my country, warfare, firearms, and all forms of combat. Memorial Day has always been one of my favorite holidays.

It all started probably some time when I was young as my grandfather would regale me with stories of his time in the 7th Army Division, Artillery Battery B shelling the Japs in WW2 in the Pacific.

I studied Theatre at Southern Illinois University and dropped out in the middle of my junior year to move to the city and pursue a career in acting, voice-overs, and stand-up.

A few months ago, my father suffered a stroke, and I have since returned home to take care of him. With a recent addiction to the Military Channel, some helpful guidance of an 0311 Sgt. friend of mine, and the patriotism I've retained my entire life, I have made the decision to enlist as soon as I am able. I love my country dearly, and would be proud to serve in her defense. I chose the Marines as I consider them the best branch of service. In training and military structure, I do not believe that any other arm of America's defense compares. I fervently work towards the day when I can step into those yellow footprints like so many before me.