PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Migraine Waiver

Zwoods2010
04-29-10, 06:06 PM
Hello all, I am a high school student and have already went through mep/s for the Navy with intention of joining the Navy Seals. I then was told I needed a medical waiver for migraines i had as a child up until high school. I havent had one in 2 years. I was denied Entry and then Denied a Naval Waiver. I am now processing with the marines for a marine waiver for my migraines. I have to go back to meps n have a consult and then they will decide if I get a waiver for it or not. I was jw if any one knows what my chances are of getting a waiver for such a thing. I played football and ran track all 4 years and in top physical condition and perfect in all aspects but this. No history of anything and passed all meds and physicals perfect. Any insight to this would be great thank you!

Rocky C
04-29-10, 06:17 PM
So the Marines were your 2nd Choice???
That gives me a Headache.......
I think your Shiat out of Luck on the Waiver but I'm no Doctor or Recruiter.

Any Waivers are Hard to come by these days..........

Lisa 23
04-29-10, 06:26 PM
Marines will always be capitalized. We don't use chat room slang here either.
The Marines here have no idea if your waiver will be approved or not, it's not up to us....and with the Marine Corps beyong meeting their quota, this type of waiver is probably slim to none on getting approved. There are many other young men and women who don't require any waivers of any type that would be able to enlist over those that need waivers.

Medical Waivers
http://usmilitary.about.com/od/joiningthemilitary/a/medicalwaiver.htm

Military Medical Standards for Enlistment & Appointment Neurological disorders

History of recurrent headaches (784.0), including, but not limited to, migraines (346) and tension headaches (307.81) that interfere with normal function in the past 3 years, or of such severity to require prescription medications, are disqualifying.