PDA

View Full Version : In college...Officer School?

eboggs
10-20-09, 05:17 PM
Hi Marines,

Im 18, currently attending a two year college for gen. eds. then will be switching to a four year for get my bachelors... im a Freshman. I was going to enlist in the Marine Corps as a senior in high school, but didnt. I regret it. Honestly not a day goes by i dont think about it. Now im looking at being an Officer. I think ive read somewhere where i attend OCS? is that correct? between my Junior and Senior year? then decide if i want to be an Officer in the United States Marine Corps?

Also, I am looking into an Infantry Officer. Anyone here have Experience? :)....I remember talking to the local Recruiter and he told me Being an Officer is all Political and arent very liked by the Enlisted men.

Thanks for your help, and service.

Ethan

Bdchi1
10-20-09, 05:35 PM
The following steps were pulled from a general site but it gives you the jist. As for enlisted not liking officers, I liked and respected every PC and CC I served with. Your recruiter doesn't make his/her quota if you go OCS...so keep that in mind.

* Step 1
Decide if you want to be an officer in the United States Marine Corps. All Marines are infantry officers first, but the possibilities go well beyond that to include pilots, tank commanders, artillery officers and others.
*Step 2
Find out about the four main ways to become a Marine officer. The options include the United States Naval Academy, NROTC Marine Option, Platoon Leaders Class and the Officer Candidate Course.
*Step 3
Ensure you meet the basic eligibility requirements such being a U.S. citizen, passing the medical exam and meeting the age limits. The requirements vary with different commissioning paths. Some may include GPA or SAT requirements.
*Step 4