PDA

View Full Version : I made it, you can too.

SEANstaah
10-14-08, 01:28 PM
Well, I graduated Private First Class Madriaga, Plt.1053 Charlie.

Went from 10 pull ups, 115 crunches, 11:30 1.5 Mile to 15 pull ups, 142 crunches and a 23 3 mile. Not the best stats, but I have no regrets.
Just wanted to say that this site has lots of information that helped me get through Boot Camp.

I would gladly answer all relevant questions. I won't respond to garbage.

I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but I would like to help. If you want Boot Camp to be a surprise, don't continue reading.

I'm not going to write a whole essay on Boot Camp, but I would like to give some tips to help you Poolees out when you reach the depot.

------

Be strong. Not just physically, but mentally and morally. Don't show fear. Yeah sure, you may cry at night the first few days after Black Friday, but don't let your Drill Instructors see it. Fight the urge to take the easy way out. Do the right thing, even when no one is looking.

If you want to get Meritoriously Promoted, graduate Guide, Squad Leader, or Scribe. If you want to be Guide or Squad Leader, show your motivation. Move with intensity , sound off, and follow instructions. Be the first to everything. Lead by example and mentor others. Let the drill instructors see that, you'll be Squad Leader. I was squad leader for all of First Phase, 1/2 of Second Phase. I got fired because I neglected to maintain order. If your going to be Squad Leader, do your Platoon a favor and make sure you can keep the job so you don't waste their time. If you want to be scribe, your drill instructors may ask, "Who has some good hand writting?" Sound off and say, "THIS RECRUIT, SIR!" If your not a dirt bag, you'll be Scribe.

It sounds so simple, yet recruits just don't do it. When the Drill Instructor yells at you, yell at him back. Sound off with some intensity and aggression. If you whisper and sound like a sister, they'll pick on you all cycle.