PDA

View Full Version : Dress Blues

MLMonk
07-12-08, 02:18 PM
I have noticed in the Marine Dress Blues, they only wear 1 bar of ribbons, possibly only 3-4 of them, why is that?

Thanks.

Brewer0311
07-12-08, 02:49 PM
That is becuase most Marines only have roughly aroudn 3 to 4 awards that are ribbons. This is becuase most awards have a medal equivalent. We wear the ribbons becuase they don't make the medal to go with the rest.

bear03
07-12-08, 02:53 PM
Hay there MLMonk I graduated from Oviedo Fl and was in the original ROTC first year program there. Deped out of the sanford office.
Well to your question When I was in if you had the awards you were authorized to wear them. It was personal preferance by the devil dog desplaying them on which ones were displayed unless otherwise ordered. Unless things have changed sence then it is still the same. Hope this helps, I would say ask Col Nardo but he is probably not there anymore.

MLMonk
07-12-08, 04:15 PM
Hay there MLMonk I graduated from Oviedo Fl and was in the original ROTC first year program there. Deped out of the sanford office.
Well to your question When I was in if you had the awards you were authorized to wear them. It was personal preferance by the devil dog desplaying them on which ones were displayed unless otherwise ordered. Unless things have changed sence then it is still the same. Hope this helps, I would say ask Col Nardo but he is probably not there anymore.

Heh, Colonel Nardo is still around and PTing, this year he turns 72 I think. He mostly made me lead the PT's when it was circuit training my Senior year though.

Thanks for the responses, I have been wondering about that for a while, makes sense to me now.

SlingerDun
07-12-08, 06:40 PM
MLMonk's profile tells you: occupation...3536

MOS - Vehicle Recovery Operator. Is this true or are you still a civilian Pooleehttp://www.leatherneck.com/forums/images/icons/icon6.gif

bear03
07-12-08, 07:26 PM