PDA

View Full Version : OCS after Boot

xpaz
06-12-08, 08:47 PM
This is directed more at any of the Officers, but I'm happy, as usual, to hear anyone else's perspective on the matter.

I'm a college grad and expect to ship 20081027 to MCRD San Diego. I talked 2 times with my local OSO about OCS, but ultimately decided to go enlisted, always knowing that the opportunity for commissioning would always be there. It was only after my 3rd trip to my OSO that I was told something to the effect of:

"That's fine, good luck! Just so you know, as soon as you get out of Boot, they're going to ask you again if you want to go to OCS."

I didn't really grasp that at the time, and probably should have asked more questions about that. It's my understanding that commissioning becomes a bit more of a long and involved process once you've already gone in enlisted and served for some time.

Can someone please elaborate on the process a bit more? I've found a few examples of newly-enlisted Marines getting out of Boot, proceeding to the SOI, and then at some point thereafter, finally being accepted into an upcoming OCS class. But nothing to the effect of what my OSO told me, as far as being "invited" to OCS immediately after graduation from Boot.

Is this something that I'll do immediately after Boot? Generally what time frame would I be looking at after Boot, as far as when I'd be able to go to OCS, should I decide to go that route? Would I still get my 10 days leave following Boot, or would I just hang around in SD and get the paperwork going? Would I wait until the next OCS "class" or would I proceed with MCT and any MOS-specific training until that paperwork went through?

I'm without a doubt committed to getting through Boot as my first priority. If the OCS door opens itself back up to me, who am I to say what I will feel like once/if I have earned the title. But it would still be helpful to get a better grasp on the process immediately coming out of Boot.