PDA

View Full Version : The Difference between officer and an enlisted

reed16
06-07-08, 07:17 PM
Hello, my name is Reed this is my first thread on this forum. I am a sophomore in high school and I live in Las Vegas,NV. I was wondering what the difference is between an officer and an enlisted individual. I've heard that OCS and TBS is very difficult. Yes, I'm willing to take the challenge. But I'm curious to to know my chances of becoming an infantry officer? I've heard its really hard to get into the program and its very tough work. Also, what duties would I have as an infantry officer? Am I involved with leading marines in combat? Will I be with them in combat? Would I have to do paperwork? Would I just bark orders over the radio? I'm interested in enlisting because I want to go infantry and I want to be involved in combat with other marines. In your opinion would you suggest I go in as an officer or enlisted? Yes, being an officer would mean higher pay and more benefits, but I'm not interested in that. I want to join the corps and make something of my life. I plan on making the corps my life. However, long I live that is. I get good grades, I have a 4.0 GPA and I keep in pretty good shape. I just want to know if my calling is to be grunt or be an officer. I just don't want to end up doing a desk job, or doing paperwork all day. I want to be on the frontlines serving with other marines. Sorry, for the long paragraph any responses would be much appreciated.:)

Haffner
06-07-08, 09:58 PM
The way to find the answer to your mass of run on questions is to slam your head into a hard surface (ie your computer desk, wall, meatgrinder powered ON) until the blunt trauma/grinding force causes a spontaneous and randomly occuring chemical reaction that will direct your brain cells to operate in a method of extra sensory perception.

ecfree
06-07-08, 10:08 PM
Son it is a mortal sin not to capotalize ..........MARINE:evilgrin:

Zulu 36
06-07-08, 10:11 PM