PDA

View Full Version : Finally making the comittment.

srinaldo86
05-22-08, 07:23 PM
I've been debating on joing the Corp for over 10 months now and almost on my 22nd birthday I have decided it is the path I would love to take. Now I'm just curious what I need to expect, how I should prepare, and any other possible advice I could recieve would be much appreciated. (Obviously run, pushups, situps, and pullups until I cant stand it anymore.)
My intentions are to persue CFR because it is what I have been doing in the civilian world for the past 2 years, and it is what I love.
I currently need to take my MEP and my ASVAP; both are scheduled for June 2nd & 3rd. My recruiter is planning on sending me out in October or November. Obviously I have some time to prepare and would like to do everything in my power in that time frame to make myself the best there is the day I show up.

Thank you in advance,
Rinaldo.

jrhd97
05-22-08, 07:40 PM
Rinaldo,
There is much to expect. To get prepared for boot camp checkout the " Ask a Marine " and " Poolee " forums. A lot of good information there from general knowledge to physical fitness. If you have a question utilize the search function, you will probably find your answer, if not ask away. There are a lot of Marines here who are more than willing to help or share advice and experiences. Don't let the rash, crude and sometimes rude responses you will get from time to time, for they are nothing like what you will get at Parris Island.
Don't be afraid to ask your recruiter any questions you have. Participate in as many Poolee functions as you can.
Good luck!

srinaldo86
05-22-08, 08:45 PM
I'll try to browse around more to find my answers.

Rash and crude will not bother me. (Not to sound cocky/arrogant but I've lived in that type enviroment for 4 years now. :D)