PDA

View Full Version : Enlistment without knowing where I will live?

RPTrainor
04-22-08, 09:47 AM
I am currently a freshman at a community college and plan on enlisting in MARFORRES. My problem is that I am planning on transferring to a top 20 national university as a junior in fall 2009. Can I sign and get a ship date next fall that would allow me to ship out to MCRD San Diego next summer with the 92 day program as an open contract in the reserves. My problem comes from transferring next year. I will start the application process next winter and will not get acceptance letters until May of 2009. I want to go 03XX or 4421, although more than anything I want to earn the title of Marine. I will serve whatever unit is close to where I get accepted in whatever job I can. Does anyone have a similar experiences or know of anyone who has? I thank you for you time and for your service.

rvillac2
04-22-08, 10:01 AM
There are no open contracts for the Reserve. You enlist into an available MOS/billet at the reserve unit you will serve at. You don't need to DEP in too early, anyway. Once you get an idea of/narrow down where you'll be going, then you should contact your recruiter to see what will be available. If you get the 92 day contract, you will leave early in the summer.

Echo_Four_Bravo
04-22-08, 10:30 AM
Talk to your recruiter about your options. Honestly, there are some jobs that turn up in lots of places. (They don't happen to be the one's on your list though.) For example, just about every unit needs admin type people. That is how the reserve unit I spent time with managed to have female Marines (It was an infantry unit). There are other jobs as well- radio operators are in many units. Motor T mechanics are all over the place.