PDA

View Full Version : A few questions about the Corps. for Reserve Servicemen and Women

ProspectMarine
03-01-08, 03:43 AM
I'm a sophomore attending a university, and I'm excited about the prospect of becoming a 0331 Reservist in Missouri.

I've had several issues with my recruiter; I've researched the enlistment process, and would really appreciate it if any of you could offer some clarification.

1. He had stated that no Missouri Reserve Units had been called up for Iraq or Afghanistan. I wanted to know if this was true. It wouldn't prevent me from joining the Corps. if he had mistated this, but I would probably delay until school was over.

2. I was wondering whether moving for a job or internship and transferring to another unit would be an issue.

3. I'm currently on a full scholarship, and I don't need the G.I. Bill. I had wanted to look at a 4x4 instead of the more common 6x2.

If anyone could help me out, thanks. I have immense respect for the Corps. and have wanted to join since I was in high school.

One odd note; I spoke to a national guard recruiter (wasn't impressed) but he had mentioned that the fact that I was an eagle scout would put me up to E3 in the Army. Is this the same in the Marines? Thanks again.

rvillac2
03-02-08, 02:05 AM
1. You could call the Reserve unit that you are thinking of joining and ask them if they've activated or are scheduled to activate in the future. If your priority is graduating college, then you shouldn't join at all until you've reached that goal.

2. Moving away from your unit is mostly an issue when you have a less common MOS. You should be able to find a unit to join in most major cities if you are an 03xx. Don't plan on getting a summer internship unless they'll excuse you for your annual 2week Active Duty.

3. Reserve contracts are 6x2, not 4x4. 4x4 is only for Active Duty.

4. Eagle Scout might get you PFC, E-2, but certainly not L/Cpl.

ProspectMarine
03-02-08, 03:47 AM