PDA

View Full Version : Which way would you go?

Sway
01-23-08, 07:58 PM
Marines,

While this isnt about restarting checkpoints, or buying weapons like Counter strike I did have a question I have been thinkng a lot about that I was wondering if a few of you could answer for me.

I am a college student who just enlisted in the Marine Reserve set to go Infantry 0331 (mom just loved that dinner table conversation) and I ship on May 19th 2008.

When I arrive at Parris Island I want to be in best possible place psychologically and psychically as is possible; and I realize that it is going to be a hell of an experience any way that I arrive. At 5'8 188 I am heavier than I would liek to be but wouldnt consider myself a complete fat body because I lift and run regularly, (weirdly I was in the top condition of my MEP's poolees) but I want to be better for the Island.

So while I am long winded as usual, my question is, should I concentrate more on building muscle or losing weight? I realize the food / exersise / lifting is essential in any diet; but if you see where I am getting at should I come more bulky or skinner (while obviosuly ready to run/pushups/pullups).

I am asking this in the marine forum because you guys have been there, which worked better for you?

Thanks for your time gentlemen, and If somehow this doesnt meet the requirements for this particular forum, I do apologize sincerely.

Cheers

Tim Robbins
Hobart College 2011
CEPR, President
Hobart Student Government
Hobart Debate Team

gonepostal
01-23-08, 08:13 PM
run,run,run,run,run,and run!!!!! :(

Sway
01-23-08, 08:16 PM
Thats what I have bee told, but I guess with that issue as well sir, where do you gauge that? While you can always get better, what is the zone you would want to be in? I did 6 miles a day while I wasnt in school and since I am back in session I am at around 3-4. Is this something sustainable or should I push the intensity up. Mind you I am extremely intense to begin with. haha.

BR34