PDA

View Full Version : this forum is great!

marinemama
01-09-08, 04:51 PM
as a noob, I appreciate all of your answers and your knowledge....thanks to you all for being there and making me safe in my home...Marines are the best in the world!
:marine:

yellowwing
01-09-08, 05:58 PM
Welcome Aboard! Where is your son at now?

marinemama
01-09-08, 07:54 PM
Thanks yellowwing for your welcome.

My son has just seen a recruiter and will be joining this week, as long as all the nosy jerky people leave him alone. He has been told how bad it is, how the recruiter lies...in that you can't really pick your job, they will send him in to the firefight not ready...blah blah blah...I am sure you understand what I mean. He is a wonderful human being, not saying that just becasue he is mine, and in my opinion, would make a bold, brave and courageous Marine. He is excited, scared and thinking he might wash out...that is just his thoughts with all the negative folks the last couple of days. In speaking with him tonight, I think he is going for it. I joined this to help him make an educated decision from people that have already been there and can fill in some blanks for him. I joined because in my heart, I really feel he will do this and with my anal ways in reseaching, will help myself deal with the shipping off of my son when the time comes. He isn't a baby, but he is my baby at 20. He is a hard worker and I will be so proud of him when we go to San Diego for parents day. I can't wait to see the change in his self esteem, it will be amazing! He has never been in trouble...never....and I feel this will shape his life so much for the better...what a wonderful thing to call yourself...a Marine!

So I am sorry if I jumped the gun and joined too early....I just didn't feel it right to be a lurker and not add anything to the place. Your information is concise and overwhelming at times, but helpful all the same.