PDA

View Full Version : MOS for NSA

kayLah
09-25-07, 04:44 AM
Hi. My question is similar to one that someone had asked last week about gaining skills for a career in the the FBI. I lack permission to reply to threads, but I'm apparently able to create them though.

I'd be most appreciative if one of you could advise me as to the best possible route towards a career at the NSA. I'm currently a freshman Computer Science major. I'm considering adding a minor, but am undecided between Political Science, International Studies, or Criminal Justice.

Do you think enlisting in the military after college or joining the reserves is the wisest path to take? I'm open to all four branches, but would definitely prefer the Marines if there's little difference in training and experience. My initial thoughts are that I should join with a field 26 MOS (Sig Int) after college. Fields 02 and 40 are also somewhat related. I don't think reserve units in Minneapolis or Madison offer 26x. I also don't think that becoming an officer would be wise becuase of the limited number that are assigned to areas like this. And forgive me for saying, but would any of you guys reccomend taking a guaranteed MOS in the Army such as 98XL?

I'm really just thowing stuff out there. I'll stop talking now and just listen to what you guys have to say.

Thank you for your service.
:bunny:

rvillac2
09-25-07, 11:30 AM
You do not need military training to start a career with NSA. You're on the right track with being in college and your chosen major. However, if you really want to serve, Air Force and Army are better options for you. They dedicate more resources and have bigger units for Signals, Intelligence, and Crypto.

My advice to you is to power through college and pursue your career at NSA right away. There is info on their website about job fairs, internships, and other ways to get started.
http://www.nsa.gov/careers/students.cfm

Echo_Four_Bravo
09-25-07, 12:29 PM