PDA

View Full Version : I know that you aren't doctors,

Qwarkeh
07-17-07, 07:22 PM
but I've been having this one problem for the past month and a half or so.

I'm very new to running, and I've been having this pain in my shin (just in one leg) since the beginning of June. I happens only when I go above a slow jogging speed, every other time it is just fine. I have been jogging at a speed that doesn't cause any pain every other day, should I continue to do that? I'm just kind of worried because I don't want to hurt myself even more.

Phantom Blooper
07-17-07, 07:58 PM
The forum doctor is in...Check the Poolee Hall of Fame and search for shin splints.:evilgrin:

Billd
07-17-07, 08:40 PM
I do a little running and have been injury free for over 5 years now.
I'm no expert but have ran a marathon or two. I'm certainly no doctor but have learned a few things along the way.
Could be the shoes you're running in. There are three basic types of running shoes: cushioned, stability and motion control. which one is right for you depends on a few things like do your feet tend to roll out or in when you run, you can tell by looking at the wear pattern on some shoes you've been wearing for awhile. Also your arch height, is it a low, medium or high arch? You can tell by wetting the bottom of your foot and stepping on dry concrete, just a normal step, don't force it. Then look at the imprint left, if it looks like the whole bottom of your foot then you have a low arch, if there is a medium curve towards the outside of your foot then it's medium, sharp curve, high. if you find that your foot rolls in or out, then you need a motion control shoe, if you are a heavier runner, then you will need stabilty, light runner and your feet don't roll : a cushioned running shoe.