PDA

View Full Version : A Vietnam Veteran Defends the Protesters

thedrifter
03-19-03, 07:00 AM
"The Voice of the Grunt"
03-18-2003

A Vietnam Veteran Defends the Protesters

By Ralph Omholt

As a Vietnam veteran, I have long had mixed emotions about anti-war protests. I swore an oath to protect the U.S. Constitution, including the rights of Americans to protest. That is what makes America great: We honor the basic rights of all, as being sacred, even as soldiers.

Americans also have the right to vote, thus national consensus – as a form of protest – is also available.

Yet, to be in a combat zone - Vietnam in my case - it is disconcerting as hell to hear of American war protestors, since they do give some form of aid and comfort to the enemy. That is unfortunately the “bad” that traditionally comes with the greater good. In Vietnam, we fought on. In the end, it was for nothing, for all intents and purposes. The 58,000 dead, and the related casualties, left their mark on America. They haven’t been forgotten.

Now, we face another war with a remarkable number of protestors, given that the combat phase of the standoff has not yet occurred. And the protestors generally carry an interesting political message. In my observation, the protestors have stuck to arguing the lack of compelling reasons for war with Iraq, and have not betrayed their cause by coming off as “anti-American.”

*Moreover, the current protestors are not randomly protesting “war” in the traditional pacifist sense; rather, they protest the unnecessary prosecution of the proverbial “hell” of war. Their case grows, interestingly, stronger by the day. The allegations against Iraq are rapidly fading and many of the official U.S. rationales for combat have been challenged, even as the revived U.N. inspections appeared to make progress.