PDA

View Full Version : A Heroic Drive

thedrifter
06-08-07, 11:25 AM
06-08-2007

A Heroic Drive

By Matthew Dodd

I am frequently asked two seemingly simple questions about this heroes article series by different people that I cannot answer. The first is, “Of all the heroes you have researched and written about, who is your favorite?” The second question is, “Which of your heroes’ exploits are most worthy of a Medal of Honor?”

I cannot choose a favorite. As a retired Marine officer, I can honestly say that I love and deeply respect all these heroes. At different times I will recall different parts of different citations, usually in response to something else I read or heard. Each citation has touched me in a very personal way. As far as whose actions go beyond what is expected of a Navy/Air Force/Distinguished Service Cross, the nation’s second highest medals for battlefield valor, and gets into the realm of being worthy of a Medal of Honor, I do not have a clue. I have never been in a position to make that determination, and I have faith in the system and in those who are involved in the largely secretive nomination and approval process.

However, my newest Navy Cross hero is someone who consistently comes to mind whenever I contemplate those two unanswered questions….

“The President of the United States takes pleasure in presenting the NAVY CROSS to Lance Corporal Todd R. Corbin, United States Marine Corps Reserve, for service as set forth in the following citation: For extraordinary heroism as Medium Tactical Vehicle Replacement Driver, Weapons Company, 3d Battalion, 25th Marines, Regimental Combat Team 2, 2d Marine Division, II Marine Expeditionary Force (Forward) in support of Operation IRAQI FREEDOM 04-06 in Hadithah, Iraq on 7 May 2005. Lance Corporal Corbin was the driver for a medium tactical vehicle when enemy forces ambushed his platoon, using a suicide vehicle borne improvised explosive device, rocket-propelled grenades, and machineguns.”