PDA

View Full Version : Geezers in the pool

rundegrun
06-02-07, 07:50 AM
I was wondering if there were any other "older" poolees on the forum, such as myself. I'm 27, married with one kid, who finally decided to listen to that little voice in the back of his head and join the Marine Corps (and yes, I got the wife's approval first, in fact she's the one that suggested Corps or nothing). To top off my "advanced age", I'm 6'4, and have a couple of tattoos on my back (nothing racy); I kinda dropped the whole "blend in, don't stand out" advice right out the window.

I see the potential for getting picked on a little more as an extra challenge to overcome, which will make graduation all the more fulfilling, and am definitely looking forward to Parris Island (I don't ship till the end of the year)

Anyone else in the same boat?

My name is Dan, and I'm a recovering Army contractor.

Kurby494
06-02-07, 08:18 AM
I was wondering if there were any other "older" poolees on the forum, such as myself. I'm 27, married with one kid, who finally decided to listen to that little voice in the back of his head and join the Marine Corps (and yes, I got the wife's approval first, in fact she's the one that suggested Corps or nothing). To top off my "advanced age", I'm 6'4, and have a couple of tattoos on my back (nothing racy); I kinda dropped the whole "blend in, don't stand out" advice right out the window.

I see the potential for getting picked on a little more as an extra challenge to overcome, which will make graduation all the more fulfilling, and am definitely looking forward to Parris Island (I don't ship till the end of the year)

wow! Good luck man. I thought i messed up by not goin right out of high school and I'm only 20. I hope you make it, you know what they say; better late than never.

rundegrun
06-02-07, 08:37 AM