View Full Version : Some things old becoming new once more

thedrifter
06-01-07, 06:41 AM
June 1, 2007 - 12:00AM
Some things old becoming new once more

TIMMI TOLER
DAILY NEWS STAFF
Could we please bring back wrinkles?

It appears we are coming into an age where everything old is new again. I read a story recently about aprons gaining popularity. The iconic symbol for women nearly a half century ago became pass when baking for your family was replaced with burning your bra.

But now women are realizing the value of the cover-up while cooking in the kitchen or tooling around the house with their spackling knives and their WD-40.

Housework is just plain messy, so it makes sense to keep yourself as clean as possible.

I'm thrilled aprons are making a comeback. I have an apron that was handmade by my Grandma Bena. The material is a funky, floral yellow, circa 1970-something. I love that apron even though I hardly ever wear it (since I'm hardly in the kitchen because I'm a wretched cook). It's a part of my family's history and a part of female history as the unofficial uniform women wore for centuries as caretakers and nurturers of the home.

The push mower is another bygone that's saying hello again. A story in our paper this week said the American Lawn Mower Co. is reporting record sales of the manually powered push mower. No motor. No gas. No noise. Just sharp blades and lots of heave-ho.

The mower has become a favorite among women who find it easier to handle than its gas-powered counterpart. Plus, women like the exercise they get while using it. We used to have a push mower like that when I was younger. It was work, but it got the job done. And with gas prices being what they are, it makes sense to conserve where you can.

And since we're bringing back classics, I'd like to cast my vote for wrinkles. I miss them. They're interesting, important and part of human progress.