PDA

View Full Version : Requesting the Guidance of Marines

alexpw62
11-17-06, 10:29 PM
Hello Marines,

First of all, I would like to sincerely thank you all for your service to our great country. Although the liberal media may not make it seem like it most of the time, the people of this country do appreciate your service and your sacrifices. You are our heroes.

Anyways, my name is Alex Weatherbie. I am not a poolee, but I want to be one soon. I am currently a freshman at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas. College is fine, and it is fine for most of my peers; however, for me it is unfulfilling and I know in my heart that what I really want to be is an active duty enlisted Marine.

I want to be a grunt; I want to be a ground-pounding infantry Marine. I don't want to sit behind a desk in a building somewhere, I want to live in the dirt and fight fiercely. How likely would I be to be guaranteed the 0300 field?

I have not contacted a recruiter yet, and this is the crux of my question. I am QUITE ashamed to admit that I have gotten out of shape since I stopped playing football halfway through my senior year in high school. I am now almost halfway through my freshman year in college and I have PT'd infrequently since football ended. I have recently started an intensive PT program again, and am beginning to get back in to shape. Should I contact a recruiter now, or should I wait until I am more in shape?

This is all kind of overwhelming and, although I'm afraid to admit it, kind of confusing sometimes. I am motivated, smart, and in time I will be back to an acceptable level of fitness. I want to be a Marine more than anything. What should be my first course of action at this time to achieve this goal of mine?

Thank you for any assistance you can give me. I truly appreciate it.

-Alex Weatherbie

Marine84
11-17-06, 11:06 PM