PDA

View Full Version : Jag Corps Question

OOOpivyOOO
08-08-06, 11:14 PM
Hello, my name is James (formerly Sgt. Brannen), and my question is in regards to the JAG Corps. I am currently a sophomore and within the next year have to start studying for my tests if I want to get into law school. I had planned on becoming a ground officer, but after meeting with a First Lieutenant going into the JAG Corps I decided to ask around and see what those of you who either are, where, or work around a JAG officer had to say about it. Basically I just want to know what you like about your positions, what you don’t like, and what you wish you would have known before entering into the JAG Corps. I know that I want to go back in the Corps, and am majoring in philosophy because I love arguments (and winning those arguments), but I just wanted get an insider’s view on the day-to-day life of a JAG officer. Thank You!
James

dscusmc
08-09-06, 06:08 AM
James - good luck on the LSAT. I accepted a commission through PLC-Law last summer. I'm in my third year, so I haven't gone through TBS or NJS. I clerk for a law firm that handles military cases (http://www.mcmilitarylaw.com/).

I can help you out with the LSAT, law school application, and PLC-Law stuff. I can also tell you what I've observed from working on various appeals with various defense attorneys. I know there is at least one Captain/4402 who peruses this site periodically.

Trial Defense Counsels (TDC), typically have a large case load. But, I think your day-to-day life depends dramatically on the command you are at. TBS has some FAQ's on the MyMOS page:
https://www.tbs.usmc.mil/Pages/MyMOS/All_MOS_FAQ_Detail.asp?MOSid=4402

Here is another good link:
http://www.marineocs.com/portal/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1568

Feel free to ask me any questions about the application process, law school, or clerking.

OOOpivyOOO
08-09-06, 09:11 PM