PDA

View Full Version : Officer Candidate School?

VTStudent
12-06-02, 07:10 PM
Hi, I am a junior at Virginia Tech, and will be talking with my OSO on Tuesday. Could you guys give me any information/advice on being selected for OCS, OCS itself, and the aviation program (wanted Ground but they don't have any contracts for that until '06). I am really excited about possibly joining you, and my grandfather, as a Marine.

USMC0311
12-06-02, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by VTStudent
Hi, I am a junior at Virginia Tech, and will be talking with my OSO on Tuesday. Could you guys give me any information/advice on being selected for OCS, OCS itself, and the aviation program (wanted Ground but they don't have any contracts for that until '06). I am really excited about possibly joining you, and my grandfather, as a Marine.

This is most Likely where you will do your Training:
http://www.quantico.usmc.mil/phone.htm
You should be able to get a heads-up here.

wrbones
12-06-02, 08:30 PM
http://www.ocs.usmc.mil/

wrbones
12-06-02, 08:54 PM
what to expect

http://www.6mcd.usmc.mil/ftl_site/officer_hanbook/what_expect.htm

wrbones
12-06-02, 09:01 PM
http://usmilitary.about.com/library/milinfo/milarticles/blmarineocs.htm

Google: USMC OCS training schedule.
USMC OCS

USMC0311
12-06-02, 09:05 PM
Originally posted by wrbones
what to expect

http://www.6mcd.usmc.mil/ftl_site/officer_hanbook/what_expect.htm

It was a piece of cake for them college boys when I was there, (Logistic/Supply NCO) in 67-68. They probably serve Coco and Cookies and tuck'em in at rack time now.

One thing is certain, Officers will be expected to Lead The Finest Fighting Force on Earth. That is one BIG responsibility.

wrbones
12-06-02, 09:10 PM
Cocoa and cookies! LMAO.

Joe, I think the FNG's today are better trained than we were, if that's possible!