PDA

View Full Version : Combat Engineer

matt-m
09-09-05, 05:37 PM
I'm curious as to what exactly a CE does? Are they integrated with infantry units and MEU's? Like, are they basically out there with the grunts, but with explosives etc?

This MOS sounds reaaaalllly appealing, but if I can "play" grunt at the same time, more the merrirer!

marinefamily5
09-09-05, 08:52 PM
Yes I'm a Combat Engineer by MOS. To tell you the truth about Combat Engineers we are the only other MOS that can operate and function at a grunt unit without a grunt unit being present......they call us the smart grunts because we have to do our jobs plus be able to do what the grunts to..........if there is something that the grunts can't get around then we go up and breach it ( meaning make a opening in it ) so the grunt can go thru it......

Myself there is nohting better then watching 3500 lbs of C-4 go off. you prolly know that in the marine corps there are 3 sides of the marine corps.

division, group, air wing

In division you play with explosives, in group you play with explosives alittle bit but you mainly do construction. and in the air wing all you do it is construction. myself i loved the division side of the house.

if you would like to know some more about being a combat engineer let me know

matt-m
09-09-05, 09:12 PM
Can you choose division wing etc? I'd want to be division, but is it more "needs of the Corps" :/

Also, that view as being the "smart grunts" is that what actual grunts say....or just something within the CE community?

I'd love to be a CE, but the hopes of me even having the chance to enlist is fine by me...(childhood asthma and osgood-schlatter now :()

greensideout
09-09-05, 09:19 PM
matt-m,
As was said before, you build things and you blow things up.
Think construction trades. You can learn some good skills. Carpenter, electrican, heavy equipment operator, water purification, bridge building, maintaining equipment as a mechanic and the list goes on.