PDA

View Full Version : Stop Smoking????????

cowgurl_Marine
03-16-05, 03:26 PM
Hey Poolees and Marines,

I am trying to stop smoking before Boot.......AAAAAAHHHHHH... I need Your help any advice from anyone. I have been smoking for about 4 years now and I really want to stop. HELP!!!!!!

Any advice Please. I know I will stop while in Boot but It will kick my ends worse if I don't Stop now.

jinelson
03-16-05, 04:22 PM
And Poolee you're so right you will in boot camp don't worry about it you will not have time in boot to give it a second tought, I know I didnt, just be wiser than me and dont start back up, OK?
I just quit again for good after 38 years and that aint pretty. So do it right, now while your young.

Good Luck
Jim

garryh123
03-16-05, 04:41 PM
Zyban.....I smoked 13 years....was up to 4-5 packs a day. Zyban helped me quit within 2 months.

HardJedi
03-16-05, 06:33 PM
it's called self discipline. don't BUY any moresmokes, and don't bum any off of someone else, and problem is solved. Thats the way I quit chewing and drinking both.

enviro
03-16-05, 09:04 PM
Actually, depending on when you ship, it won't make much difference.

You won't even think about it in boot camp. It takes about 3-4 months for all that crap to start coming up and your lungs really start to heal. Takes a good year before you can be toxic free.

The American Cancer Society says:

* Within 20 minutes of your last cigarette:

Blood pressure drops to normal.
The pulse drops to its normal rate.
Body temperature of your hands and feet increases to normal

* 8 Hours

The carbon monoxide level in your blood drops to normal.
Oxygen level in your blood increases to normal.

* 24 Hours

Chances of heart attack decreases.

* 48 Hours

Nerve endings start regrowing.
Your ability to smell and to taste things is enhanced.

* 72 Hours

Bronchial tubes relax, making breathing easier

* 2 Weeks to 3 Months

Circulation improves.
Walking becomes easier
Lung function increases up to 30 percent.