PDA

View Full Version : What next?

VarelaMJ
10-17-04, 09:34 PM
I just graduated from PI on the 15 and was wondering if anyone can give me tips. For instance, I was made fun of for saying sir and mam to other enlisted marines as soon as I graduated. Anything else to save me from embarrassment would be greatly appreciated. What is MCT like?

HardJedi
10-17-04, 09:41 PM
well, first off, CONGRAT! welcome to the brotherhood, MARINE!

second, I guess it just depends on where you go from here. When I got my first unit, wearing USMC t-shirts and Jackets out on Libbo would get you made fun of as a boot.

greensideout
10-17-04, 09:48 PM
Forget the embarassment!

You were in good order. If they made fun of your addressments then they were the ones who were making the mistake.

You will find that many don't have a clue and choose to belittle those that choose to show respect.

Stay the course Marine!

HardJedi
10-17-04, 10:08 PM
what MOS school are you going to?

greensideout
10-17-04, 10:10 PM
And wecome to this site!

Congratulations upon becoming a Marine!

drillinstructor
10-17-04, 10:45 PM
I AGREE WITH GREENSIDEOUT......CALLING THEM BY THEIR RANK IS ALSO APPROPIATE

snipowsky
10-18-04, 05:39 AM
VarelaMJ whatever you do, don't ever do this! I never did this coming from a military family, but seen other new Marines do this all the time.

Don't ever salute enlisted personnel. I always had good chuckle seeing this, it's hard not too. Address enlisted personnel by their rank and you will always be good to go. Officers are the only ones who rate a salute, unless you run into an enlisted Marine with a CMH and I doubt that will ever happen. Then again I never thought I'd ever meet the Commandant of the Marines and I did... I met Gen. Charles Krulak! So I guess anything is possible in the Marines.