PDA

View Full Version : Why I Serve: Marine's Life-Long Dream Comes True

thedrifter
09-04-04, 06:15 AM
Why I Serve: Marine's Life-Long Dream Comes True
By Pfc. Cheryl Ransford, USA
Special to American Forces Press Service

BAGRAM AIR BASE, Afghanistan, Sept. 3, 2004 –– "When I graduated from high school, I really wanted to join the Marines and be like my dad, but he didn't want any of his kids anywhere near the military," said Marine Lance Cpl. Bill McStay, a tug and aircraft generator mechanic. "He was a recon Marine in the Korean War, and didn't want his kids to see combat."

As a child, McStay dreamed of following in his father's footsteps and becoming a Marine. Now, at the age of 36 and a member of Heavy Marine Helicopter 769 Squadron, he can finally say dreams really do come true.

Every time the recruiters would come around, his dad was right there to chase them off the property, McStay said. "So I went to college and earned a degree in education, and went to work for my dad at his business, selling and working on metal valves for steel mills and industrial plants," he said.

But everything changed after Sept. 11, 2001.

"After 9/11, there was a glut of imported steel, and the domestic steel mills slowly started going out of business," he said. "Unfortunately, my dad's business was one of them."

Before he went out of business, McStay's dad tried to downsize so he wouldn't have to leave as many workers without jobs. This alternative presented an opportunity for McStay to follow his dream. Since McStay didn't have a family, unlike many of the people who worked for his father, he decided it was time to visit the recruiters.

"I still had my childhood dream in the back of my head, and decided I was going to join the military and help save the jobs of the workers who have families," he said. "I walked into the recruiters at 34 and signed up for the infantry."