PDA

View Full Version : Hooah to Ooh Rah, former soldier works hard for Marine title

Shaffer
09-19-02, 08:16 AM
MARINE CORPS RECRUIT DEPOT SAN DIEGO, Calif.(September 13, 2002) -- PFC Joey Villalpando III, graduating today with Platoon 2094, Co. H, waited a long time to earn the title of Marine. Going back to his teenage years he always wanted to become a Marine, but was deferred by his father, a retired gunnery sergeant.

"During the Gulf War, I wanted to join but was too young to go," said Villalpando, who hails from Dallas. After I graduated high school, my father wanted me to join the Army instead of the Marine Corps because he believed the Army was more college oriented.?

Villalpando, 28, joined the Army as an infantry soldier and over nine years made it to the rank of sergeant.

"I could have had any job in the Army, but I wanted to be there to defend my country," said Villalpando. "I am a very patriotic man and I appreciate what the United States stands for."

Villalpando said he never regretted joining the Army. After completing service on active duty he joined the Army National Guard.

"After September 11, the National Guard was called up to provide security at the airports," said Villalpando. "One night as I was getting off duty, I turned on the television in my hotel room and saw a documentary on Marine Corps boot camp and it excited me."

Villalpando said the thought of Marine Corps recruit training was always in the back of his mind.

"Since my father was a Marine I would watch him drill or go off to work in his uniform," said Villalpando. "I always wanted to be like him."

"I never wanted to get old and regret not accomplishing every goal I had," added Villalpando. "I decided that I would do it while I am still young, single, motivated and able."

Villalpando soon found himself in a Marine recruiter's office and then on a plane to San Diego. He got off the bus and proceeded to the yellow footprints.