PDA

View Full Version : Calling Bumed

SSJH5862
09-12-15, 12:24 PM
Hi there,

My name is Jinsun and I'm a bakery manager from Marlton, NJ. So basically I was talked to Marine OSO to sometime in March and told him I was vegetarian. So when he sent my information to MEPS he instead put down I was allergic to meat, in which the MEPS PDQ'ed me before I could even step foot in the MEPS center. To top it off the OSO apologized and said that he couldn't make changes to something he submitted to MEPS. So instead of going to MEPS in April, I had blood work done and saw an allergist doctor proving that I was not allergic to meat. The information was sent to Bumed in May and I have been calling my OSO office every week in which they say they haven't heard anything.

It's getting ridiculous that a group of doctors can't get to a 3 page document within 5 months. So at this point I'm going to call Bumed and ask what the status update of my file is. Has anyone done this before and can anyone offer any tips?

Zulu 36
09-12-15, 07:15 PM
I wouldn't call BUMED. First, they will probably blow you off. Second, they may rat you out to your OSO for not following the chain of command, so to speak. BUMED moves at the speed of molasses in winter.

I never knew a vegetarian Marine could exist because of the amount of protein you need to maintain and grow muscle strength. They won't let you use protein supplements in OCS.

SSJH5862
09-12-15, 08:07 PM
Thanks for the reassurance Zulu. It's just frustrating to twiddle your thumbs and wait this long without having an alternate option to speed it up. I guess I'll have to do some more waiting.

LCPL1341
09-12-15, 09:11 PM
Regardless of all this. IF (that's a big if) you get selected to OCS, your vegetarian lifestyle will go out the window. There is no way you can survive there on just vegetables. Your body will break down, which will lead to injury, which leads to you coming home empty handed.

LCPL1341
09-12-15, 09:17 PM