PDA

View Full Version : Wanna be Motor T Mechanic

ChevyBoat
04-08-15, 04:59 AM
Hello Marines,

I am finishing up my junior year in high school and I plan on joining the Marine Corps as I feel called to serve my country. I am very interested in diesel trucks, and learning to work on them. I have done small repairs on diesel trucks such as replacing the alternator on a 7.3 powerstroke. But nothing huge. However, I took an automotive shop class last year and I am taking a diesel class my senior year (next year). I have a lot of experience working on cars. I rebuilt an engine in shop class, and have replaced the engine in my truck, in fact I am saving up to replace another engine. I am currently working automotive odd jobs such as servicing radiators, replacing brakes, tune-ups, and fixing my friends' cars when something goes wrong (I also work at a fast food place, have a lawncare company in my area, and I am doing a little roofing with my gf's father). I really have a passion for working on vehicles and I want to be a 3521. However, I have a couple questions. 1) Is there anyway this can be guaranteed at all? I have heard different things. The most important thing t me is becoming a Marine, but I would also like to work in a field that interests me. 2) Is there anything Marines in that mos would recommend working on? Any and all responses are greatly appreciated!

josephd
04-08-15, 12:07 PM
1) No, you will get contracted to the 35xx field but could become an operator too. Keep in mind as an operator though you are responsible for basic maintenance of your vehicle.

2) There really isn't anything in the civilian world that I could tell you to go tinker with and work on that would help you get a feel for trucks in the Corps. HMMWV's, 7-ton's, MRAP's, and MAT-V's are all pretty unique to themselves

devilbones2
04-08-15, 01:43 PM