PDA

View Full Version : Needing Knowledge/Advice For Military Career Path

HumblePatriot
09-13-13, 12:13 AM
I am a college graduate that is currently seeking a career as an officer in the USMC reserves. However, earlier this week I was told by my OSO officer that I have been PDQd for medical reasons before going to MEPS. I have been diagnosed with ADD as a child and I know that is frowned upon. However, I have medical transcripts from my doctor saying I have been prescription free for almost 2 years now, and that the meds were not a regularly scheduled prescription to take. I also had a slight concussion during the time I played football in a D1 college, and my post test showed I had a small amount of memory loss. This has surpassed the 5 year minimum wait time as required. Finally, I had a sports hernia repaired just over a year ago and am in better shape that I was before hand. My OSO never spoke about the possibility of waivers that could be filed so I am thinking that is an option. So I would like to know if anyone knows of literature or fellow Marines that have had experience with these things? I know none of you may not be doctors, but any advice can help.

On another note, I am currently contemplating other branches to pursue a career as an officer. While my heart and attitude will always be in the ways of the Corps (many family members were Marines). And my pursuit has always been to lead and mentor other while continually learning from those around me as an officer. That is why I am looking to the other branches. Does anyone have advice as to which branch to go towards? I know that's a really odd question to ask Marines. If I am rejected from the other branches as an officer, does anyone know the odds of getting accepted into the enlisted reserves for the Corps?

Any advice for any of my questions is appreciated. I just don't want to constantly bug the OSO because I am such a stubborn Polak and don't know the meaning of quit. Thank you.

HumblePatriot