PDA

View Full Version : Preparing to serve

patriotathlete
04-01-13, 06:06 AM
I am currently a full time college student majoring in Architecture with a firm plan to become a Marine. I'm told it takes six years to receive a bachelors degree in Architecture but I also intend to study for a law degree. I have a few questions about preparing to enlist and am grateful for any advice you may offer.
1) I am a very physically fit 19 year old female with limited ground combat training. Other than the exercises in the IST, PFT, and CFT, are there any additional physical strengths I should develop that first hand experience as a U.S. Marine has taught you?
2) I have three tattoos: a lion with a barbell inside it on my left deltoid, plain script on my left calf, and a nautical star with flames on my lower back. I read the information about having tattoos prior to becoming a Marine but do you think it's worth it to have them removed?
3) The regulations for female haircuts included "maintaining a feminine appearance". Since my hair is cut close on the sides like a mohawk how would you advise I grow it to be functional when wearing headgear, clean cut, feminine, but still wear it short? The last thing i want to be concerned about in bootcamp is if my hair is meeting standards.
4) Does anyone here have experience as a Marine attorney or have any thoughts about studying law through the Marine Corps rather than before enlisting?
I'm eager for any wisdom you can offer; thank you Marines for your dedication and sacrifice!

josephd
04-01-13, 02:30 PM
1. No

2. No

3. I don't know